• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to footer
WPSecurityLock – Malware removal & WordPress security services

WPSecurityLock – Malware removal & WordPress security services

WordPress security, malware removal, repair, backups, ongoing maintenance, installation, site migration & support services – WP Security Lock.

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
  • Home
  • About
    • About Us
    • Speaker Information
    • Contact Us by Phone, Email or Live Chat
    • Testimonials
  • Security Services
    • Malware / Virus Removal
    • WordPress Security and Installation Services
    • Monthly Security Packages
    • SSL Conversion Service (HTTP to HTTPS)
  • Blog
  • Resources
  • Contact
  • SafeWP

Media Temple Security Alert – Email Requesting Login Info

October 8, 2010 By Regina Smola Leave a Comment

Media TemplePlease be advised that on October 8, 2010 at 5:30 pm CST, we received a Security Alert email from Media Temple.

Malicious hackers are posing as Media Temple and sending out emails to their customers requesting their hosting username and password.

Hackers are trying to trick their customers into “thinking” there's a dangerous phishing page on their sites and they “need” to fix it for them.

Media Temple's Security Alert email reads as follows:

It has been brought to our attention that a small percentage of our customers have received emails requesting login information from a source claiming to be Media Temple. This is part of a larger attack affecting several large webhosting providers at this time. This is clearly an attempt to retrieve passwords, which we would never solicit via email.

Many of you might ask “How did they get my email address?”.  These email contacts are most likely being pulled from WHOIS data — public information containing details of a domain registration. From this data, the attacker can easily determine the hosting provider. They then simply insert these details into an email “template” before sending them.

If you have responded to an email of this nature, from any company, immediately change your AccountCenter password to protect yourself. If this same password is shared with other accounts please take the appropriate steps to change those as well.

If you are unsure whether you have received such an email please see an example on our weblog at:

http://weblog.mediatemple.net/2010/10/08/important-security-alert/

We would like to reiterate that (mt) Media Temple follows the standard practice of NEVER requesting login information via email. Thank you for your cooperation and please contact us if you have any questions.

Best Regards,
(mt) Media Temple

Here's an example of one of the hacker's emails look like…

Hello,

We receive a complaint about phishing page in your web hosting account. The complaint came from Verisign inc. There is a page in your hosting account that collects personal account details and disguise as legitimate Lloyds TSB Bank PLC. That webpages have been broadly distributed to individuals by a person or entity pretending to be Lloyds TSB Bank PLC.

Please provide me with your hosting username and password so we can delete that phishing page from our server. Just reply this email with the information we needed so we can fix it immediately.

Thank you

(mt) Media Temple, Inc.
Patrick Rigney
Technical Support Manager
8520 National Blvd. Building A
Culver City, CA 90232
we appreciate your rapid response

As MediaTemple has said, if you receive an email that requests your login information, do not respond.

As a security precaution, you should never give your login details to anyone via email.

We have not had time to do any forensics on this issue, but wanted to give you a quick heads up.

After reading Media Temple's statement above, I personally find it really odd that hackers would spend their time searching the WHOIS database looking for websites hosted at Media Temple and that have their email addresses displayed publicly so they could send out these emails.

We need your help…

We are trying to determine how widespread this is and which hosting companies and types of hosting have been affected.

If you've received one of these suspicious emails let us know and if it's different then the sample above. Also tell us who you host with and if you're on shared or dedicated hosting. Leave a comment below.

Securely yours,

Regina Smola
WordPress Security Specialist
Follow on Twitter @WPSecurityLock
Become a Facebook Fan

Share
Tweet
Pin
0 Shares

Filed Under: Malware and Virus Alerts Tagged With: email from hacker, mediatemple security alert, suspicious email

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Let’s work together:

Get in touch with us and send some basic info about your project. Don't be shy, we can help with just about anything.

Contact Us!

Footer

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter

Get WordPress Help Now

Chat With Us!
Submit A Support Ticket

Copyright © 2026 | WP Security Lock, Inc